Primary Health Care

http://www.bristol.ac.uk/primaryhealthcare/



Teaching Newsletter

Canynge Hall, 39 Whatley Rd, BS8 2PS Tel 0117 9287256 Fax 0117 9287325 phc-teaching@bristol.ac.uk

Now recruiting GP Teachers for 2012-13

Thank you to all of those who have already told us what teaching they would like to do in the coming academic year. Please let us know by **8th July** to help with planning and also so you don't miss out on teaching opportunities. Please email the teaching office if you need more information or the booking forms. If you are a practice in or close to Bristol, could this be an opportunity to become a **'Core Teaching Practice'?** These are practices that take on a substantial teaching commitment in all 5 years and in return receive enhanced pay. For more information email **phc-teaching@bristol.ac.uk**

GP Teacher Awards

At the start of this year the Centre for Academic Primary Care launched a scheme for all students to nominate GPs for 6 new teaching awards. 89 students responded. This large number reflects the dedication and enthusiasm of all our GP teachers. We selected recipients of the award based on the number of nominations and individual comments. The winners are:

Year 1 Dr Lucy Jenkins (Tisdale), Concord Medical Centre, Bristol

Year 2 Dr Cheryl Atter, Cadbury Heath Medical Centre, Bristol

Year 3 Dr Kerrin Masterman, Frithwood Surgery, Stroud

Year 4 Dr Bernard Newmarch, Victoria Gate Surgery, Taunton

Year 5 Dr Simon Tucker, Tudor Lodge Surgery, Weston-super-Mare

SSC Dr Trevor Thompson, Wellspring Surgery, Bristol

Congratulations to everyone!

The full list of all the GPs who were nominated for a teaching award is on the next page. There will be another nomination process for these awards next year.

Hello and Goodbye

Thank you to **Sian Goodson** for doing a brilliant job leading on the Year 4 GP placements. Sian and her family will be moving to Adelaide at the end of June. When she has got her family settled she will be GP-ing and hopefully getting involved with teaching at the local medical school. We are hoping that her thoughts from 'down under' will be enriching this newsletter in the future.

Jess Buchan, who has been leading Year 1 will now lead Year 4.

Please welcome **Lucy Jenkins** who has been appointed to lead Year 1 and to provide additional support for Year 4.

Date for your diary

Year 5 GP Teacher Workshop

6th Nov 2012, whole day

Programme and booking info to follow

Date for your diary

Year 1 GP Teacher Workshop

18th Sept. 2012

WPC Teachers morning and lunch only Year 1 GP Teachers whole day

Engineers' House, Clifton, Bristol

This is a joint workshop for GPs who teach 1st year medical students in their practices and individuals who teach on Trevor Thompson's WPC course in Year 1.

Who should attend?

- Experienced Year 1 GP Teachers
- GPs new to Year 1 teaching
- WPC teachers

What is the programme?

There will be shared and parallel sessions for teaching in GP placements and the WPC sessions. Detailed programme and booking information to follow.

GPs nominated for the GP Teaching Awards 2011-12

We were very pleased to get so many nominations for our GP Teachers and it was a pleasure to read their comments. Well done and thank you for all the hard work you put into your teaching.

Winners in bold



Year 1

Bethany Jones, Cheryl Atter, Daniel Hirsh, Frank Mulder, Helen Stoddart, Jason Victory, **Lucy Jenkins (Tisdale)**, Marion Steiner, Mark O'Connor, Mary O'Carroll, Peter Bagshaw, Ruth Muir, Tanya Killingback.

Year 2

Jane Millais, John Bestwick, Cheryl Atter, Susan Green.

Year 3

Becky Hillier, Francesca Witcomb, Heather Baker, James Gordon, Jan Islei, Jo Clark, Joe Moreno, Kathleen Speller, **Kerrin Masterman**, Sarah Johns, Lucy Pendered.

Year 4

Alison Challens, Amanda Lacey, Amit Dwivedi, Anthony (Tony) Downey, Carole Buckley, **Bernard Newmarch**, Christopher Chubb, Damien Patterson, Emily Gilbert, Graham Fergusson, Ian Boyland, Imran Hamid, Judith Scull, Julian Hawkins, Julian Tallon, Keiron Bhargava, Martin Strong, Michael Sparrow, Paul King, Peter Goyder, Pro Sarker, Richard Berkeley, Richard Sandford-Hill, Robert Baldwin, Robert Tippin, Ronni Porter, Sheena Yerburgh, William Tuff.

Year 5

Ruth Muir, Shiyamala Ratnanandan, Simon Huins, Sue Walker, Tharsha Sivayokan, Timothy J Coulson, William Tuff and Ronni Porter, Anthony Wright, Carol Buckley, Ian Green, James Millward, Namalee Wimalasundera, Nigel Taylor, Phil Chisnall, Rajan Bowri, **Simon Tucker**, Tahira Waraich. Tamsin Griffiths.

SSC

Trevor Thompson

